Exclusive Premiere: They Silently Await – Eye Of Purgatory

If you’re even a casual reader of The Metal Wanderlust, or supporter of underground Death Metal in general, Rogga Johansson  does not need much of an introduction. Generally, the most difficult part about being a Rogga fan is knowing which projects have his name attached. With that in mind, a conversation might go something like this:

Person One: “Are you familiar with Eye of Purgatory?” 

Person Two: “I am not, no. Do tell!”

Person One: “Well, it’s a Rogga Johansson project, and…”

Person Two: “Say no more! Where can I hear it?” 

The first Eye of Purgatory album (“The Rotting Enigma,” 2018) is classic Rogga from start to finnish. Rooted heavily in the Swedish tradition, for those who are unaware, as is the vast majority of all Johansson-related projects. Never veering far from the source, for better or worse. What makes Eye of Purgatory’s upcoming release different, as evidenced by the first two singles (“The Lighthouse,” and “Fornever To Awaken”), is mainly the addition of fairly prominent keyboard work, provided by Taylor Nordberg (Ribspreader, Goregang). Transcending Obscurity Records has provided us with the opportunity to share another track from the album. This one, entitled “They Silently Await,” is a ripper! 

First of all, that artwork is absolutely insane! The great Juanjo Costellano (The Black Dahlia Murder, Nattravnen, Revel In Flesh) is responsible for this faintly nightmarish seascape. Secondly, those riffs are Rogga-tastic! The man is a beastly riff-machine! Unparalleled in badassery. Transcendent exaltedness. Combined with the hammering drum sound of Nordberg and villainous bass provided by Jeramie Kling (also of Goregang, and Ribspreader), the dynamism  Eye of Purgatory is able to unleash with just this one song is extraordinary.   

“The Lighthouse” will be released in its entirety on June 18, 2021 via Transcending Obscurity Records. Check out the amazing merch and vinyl variants TO has available on their Bandcamp page. Pre-orders are live right now! Get some! 

Line up

Rogga Johansson (Paganizer, Revolting) – Vocals, Guitars

Taylor Nordberg (Ribspreader) – Drums, Lead Guitars, Keyboards

Jeramie Kling (Venom Inc.) – Bass

Artwork by Juanjo Castellano (The Black Dahlia Murder)

Logo by Christophe Szpajdel (Rogga Johansson)

Layout by Francesco Gemelli (Master)

Track listing

1. And From The Fog…

2. The Lighthouse

3. Fornever To Awaken

4. Carved In A Stone Bleeding

5. Pieces Of A Fading World

6. They Silently Await

7. Where Slowly Life Fades

8. Rotting Pathways

9. Rebirther




unnamed (6)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s